The gates are closed for another year! The 10th Annual Rookie Awards hit a new highscore with the submission of 3,769 entries. Considering everything that has been going on, we are really proud of those of you who put in the hard work and hit the deadline. As always, we witnessed another hockey puck spike in entries during the final days while our servers got slammed by members building our their impressive entry pages.

Graph showing entries submitted since March 7th, 2020.

Thank you members

We'd like to congratulate all our members who shared their work on the platform. We know it takes a lot of courage to put yourself out there and show the world what you've been working on. The good news is, it does get easier the more you share your work with others.

I know we say it all the time, but the work continues to blow our minds each year. The projects that have been uploaded are nothing short of amazing. If you haven't done so already, please go check them out. Members have put in a huge amount of effort to present their best work and it needs to be admired.

Follow this link to check out some trending entries.

Small snapshot of some trending entries for Rookie Awards 2020.

Thank you judges

The judges are our unsung heroes. With 150+ judges this year we have a brains-trust that most Fortune 500 companies would kill for. Thank you to all judges that are generously donating their time to support all our community.

Please help me by thanking our lead judges who have been working super hard since the gates opened back in March. At this point in time, the judges have added 25,721 scores which is an incredible achievement.

There efforts are admirable and what they are giving back to the community is nothing short of amazing. A special thanks to these lead judges that have contributed beyond expectation: Chris Downs, Rafael Gonzalez Quinones, Peta Bayley, Manuel Rivoir, Asad Manzoor, Rico Suyang Wang, Mario Grosu, Wataru Ikeda, Dennis Muller, Arvid Schneider, Scott Mitchell, Zeina Masri, Pasquale Scionti, David Frylund Otzen, Parul Wadhwa, Markus Kranzler, Christina Ryan, Viktoria Piechowitz, Mirko Venturi, Nikie Monteleone, Bogun Romwald, Ray Le, Mark Flanagan, Sofia Curto.

Unfortunately the  job is far from over for all judges. Over the next month they will nominate finalists for each category and then select the overall winners that will be announced in July.

Thank you sponsors

As always, a special shout out to our incredible list of sponsors. Trust us when we say that this event and these opportunities would not be possible without their support. We are fortunate to have two major sponsors this year - Autodesk and Unreal Engine. It means the world to us that they continue to support the Rookie Awards after all these years and help our industries as a whole.

To all our other sponsors, your support means no less and we are honored to have your support again this year. Thank you! Adobe, Pixologic, Substance, Chaos Group, Foundry, Maxon, SideFX, Unity, Wacom, Weta Digital, 3D World, Axis Studios, BINYAN, Crater Studios, Epic Games, Flipped Normals, Flying Bark, Lightfield, Model Farm, Ninja Theory, Outpost VFX, Rig-it, Sini Software, Sketchfab, Toon Boom, Unbnd, Ziva.

What happens now?

We have a mild panic attack, pick ourselves up and then continue with the judging process. Our next milestone is to select finalists for all categories.

Finalists will be announced June 30th, 2020. Once finalists are announced, the general public will be invited to help select their favourite entries and vote for the People's Choice winners.

Winner will be announced July 16, 2020 so make sure to check back soon.

Please use these links to learn more about The Rookies and the Rookie Awards 2020. If you hungry for some more great content in your streams, please follow us on these networks: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn | YouTube

You've successfully subscribed to Discover | The Rookies
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Great! You've successfully signed up.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.